Facebook to Remove Nearby Friends, and Other Location Tracking Features
By the end of this month, Facebook will deactivate Nearby Friends and other location-based functions. The social networking platform revealed the adjustment a few days ago but did not provide any explanations. Facebook also claims to be deleting any data linked to location-based services from its servers.
Users of the Facebook apps for iOS and Android have recently received popup notifications concerning the elimination of Nearby Friends. People might share their present location with their Facebook friends using this feature. Time Alerts, Location History, and Background Location will all be gone from Facebook soon.
After May 31, 2022, these features will be removed from the app. According to Facebook:
After May 31, 2022, Nearby Friends and Weather alerts will no longer be available. Even if you previously enabled Location History and Background Location, the information you gave that was used for these experiences will no longer be collected after May 31, 2022.
By August 1, 2022, some location-based information, such as location history, will be available for download before being erased. However, the removal of these services does not imply that Facebook will stop collecting users’ location information “for other experiences.”